From the history of Australian mothering to burnout syndrome: Social Sciences Week 2022 is here

2 September 2022 | News

Next week (5-11 September 2022) Australia’s top social researchers, commentators and writers lead over 80 free online events as part of Social Sciences Week 2022.  

In its fifth year, Social Sciences Week 2022 is shaping up to be the best yet with an exciting program that digs deep into the social sciences and how they shape the way we live, love, learn and work together.  

From the amateur enthusiast to academics, Social Sciences Week has something for everyone. Hear how children are learning in the bomb shelters of Ukraine. Take a trip through adventure therapy and burnout syndrome or find out about the challenging problems in sport Imagine an anti-racist future, the economic implications of a changing climate or participate in a film screening  with insights and latest research from Australia’s leading social science thinkers. These are just a few of the big ideas and complex topics on offer for Social Sciences Week 2022.  

Join in to discover how the social sciences help us make sense of our relationships, environments, and institutions in a changing world.  

Find the full program of Social Sciences Week events here and follow us on Twitter (@SocSciWeek) or the hashtag #SSW2022

Media contact: Clare McHugh 0466 121 769

Social Sciences Week is coordinated by the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia and is an initiative of several partner organisations: Council for the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences; Deans of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities; The Australian Sociological Association; Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology; Australian Political Studies Association; Australian Anthropological Society and The Economic Society of Australia. The week is sponsored by RMIT University and other supporters include The University of Melbourne, Charles Sturt University, Monash University, The University of Sydney, Western Sydney University, University of Newcastle, James Cook University, Deakin University, The University of Western Australia, Swinburne University of Technology and UNSW.